The dots on the timeline bar below the video above indicate the beginning of the chapter.  List of the chapters: 

01:12 • Hazrati Imam architectural ensemble

01:46 • the Barakhan madrassa

02:23 • Khazrati Imam Mosque

02:58 • the metro

04:04 • the plov center

08:11 • the Chorsu market

 

Tashkent

The capital of Uzbekistan, a country in Central Asia, is called Tashkent and this city was created around 2200 years ago. Before the arrival of Muslims, both the city and the principality were called Chach. In the 6th century, Chach was part of the Turkish Khaganate (a khaganate is a kingdom headed by a Khan).

Chach was conquered by the Arabs at the beginning of the 8th century. The Mongols succeeded the Arabs, and the legendary cruelty of their Emperor Genghis Khan destroyed the city and slaughtered much of the population in 1219.

Under Tamerlane (Amir Timur), the city was partially restored, because he regarded Tashkent as a strategic city.

In the 16th century, the Uzbek Shaybanid dynasty gave Tashkent significant cultural influence because the sovereign Suyunchkhoja Khan had invited famous scientists, poets and writers to his court. Later, many wars pitted Tashkent against Bukhara among others.

At the end of the 18th century, Tashkent became an independent but ephemeral state ... As early as 1809, Tashkent, which in the meantime had become the richest city in Central Asia, was attached to the khanate of Kokan, causing the discontent of a large part of the clergy who sought to rally to Bukhara, but in the meantime Russia had sent its army.

Tashkent had become Russian ... But the Russian Empire was not long in disappearing in favor of the Soviet Union.

The Soviets were quick to industrialize Tashkent and in the 1930s, the city had developed a significant industrial fabric. This industrialization was to develop even more rapidly with the 1940-45 war, as the Soviets moved part of their industry from Russia to Central Asia, to avoid destruction by the Nazi armies. At that time there was a very strong increase in the population, in large part because of the Russian refugees and German Communists who were fleeing the 3rd Reich in their country. Many of them settled permanently in Tashkent which has become a cosmopolitan city.

A major earthquake in 1966 destroyed much of the old monuments and the reconstruction further accentuated its Soviet architectural character.

Among the few monuments that survived the earthquake, there is the Hazrat Imam complex.

Hazrat Imam Complex

This complex comprising a mosque and madrassas was in ruins at the beginning of the 20th century, partly following the earthquake but also because of the chronic lack of maintenance. Tashkent having declared itself "cultural capital of the Islamic world", the authorities were forced to rehabilitate the premises. And as in Uzbekistan we are not always in the lace when it comes to the rehabilitation of old monuments, the ruins of the old group have been razed and the buildings rebuilt.

Among the main buildings of this set, there is the mausoleum of Khazrati Imam and the Barakhan madrassa.

Tashkent metro

After the 1966 earthquake, authorities began construction of the first metro in Central Asia. The builders have taken particular care of the stations by decorating them with the most beautiful marbles and by ensuring that no station looks like another. The metro is built in strict compliance with anti-seismic standards and should withstand a magnitude 10 earthquake. Built during the Cold War, the Tashkent metro can also serve as an atomic bomb shelter. Until 2018, it was strictly forbidden to make films and take photos there, because of its strategic nature. We luckily went there in 2019 ...

the plov center

The national dish in Uzbekistan is plov, a dish made from rice, mutton or beef, and vegetables. Tashkent has its "plov center" where this traditional dish is made in gigantic pots. It has become a tourist attraction ...

the Chorsu market

Tashkent also has a huge covered market where you can get all the products needed to make a good plov, but many other things as well. Especially dried fruits which are excellent.

ouzbekistan_en_gallery-globe-black_1634133796.jpg

** Uzbekistan **

Globe
bukhara_en_-_mini_1610382397.jpg

Bukhara

Uzbekistan
samarkand_en_-_mini_1610443012.jpg

Samarkand

Uzbekistan
tashkent_en_-_mini_1610444290.jpg

Tashkent

Uzbekistan

about the place, Tashkent:

Tashkent is the capital and the most populous city of Uzbekistan, with its 2.5 million inhabitants. Like many towns in the region, Tashkent was destroyed by Genghis Khan at the beginning of the 13th century. And as always, cities are rising from their ashes and Tashkent became an important point on the Silk Road.

If the city shows such a resolutely Soviet character (bars of obsolete buildings, large and imposing monuments, wide avenues) it is because it was largely rebuilt following the 1966 earthquake which devastated the city. Tashkent then became the fourth largest city in the USSR, after Moscow, Leningrad and Kiev.

 

Spoken comments in the film: 

Tashkent is a city of almost 3 million inhabitants and was the fourth most important city of the former USSR. Soviet architecture is extremely present in the city, but this film is content to show historical monuments from before that time.

The city whose name means "Citadel of Stone" is at least 2000 years old and is the capital of Uzbekistan.

 

Music:

 (Ouzbekistan)  - Echoes of Vanished Courts - Holimni So'ramaysan (You don't ask how I am)

 - Alihan Samedov (Ouzbekistan)  - Duduk - Track 1

 - Toki Zargaron (Ouzbekistan)  - National Uzbek Melodies - Track 11

 - Toki Zargaron (Ouzbekistan)  - National Uzbek Melodies - Track 12

Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Ce film a été réalisé sur base de photos et vidéos prises durant le voyage Ouzbékistan et Kirghizistan

vimeo chapterUn clic sur cette icône ci-dessus affiche la liste des chapitres de ce film sur l'Ouzbékistan. Un clic sur un point va directement à un chapitre.

Chapitres :

01:12 • Ensemble architectural Hazrati Imam

01:46 • la madrassa Barakhan

02:23 • la mosquée Khazrati Imam

02:58 • le métro

04:04 • le plov center

08:11 • le marché Chorsu

 

Tashkent 

La capitale de l'Ouzbékistan, pays d'Asie Centrale, s'appelle Tachkent et cette ville fut crée il y a environ 2200 ans. Avant l'arrivée des musulmans, la ville tout comme la principauté se nommaient Chach.  Au 6ème siècle, Chach faisait partie du Khaganate turc (un khaganate est un royaume avec à sa tête un Khan).

Chach fut conquise par les Arabes au début du 8ème siècle. Les mongoles succédèrent aux Arabes, et la légendaire cruauté de leur empereur Gengis Khan a détruit la ville et massacré une grande partie de la population en 1219.

Sous Tamerlan (Amir Timur), la ville fut partiellement restaurée, parce qu'il considérait Tachkent comme une ville stratégique.

Au 16ème siècle, la dynastie des Ouzbeks Shaybanid donna à Tachkent un rayonnement culturel important car le souverain Suyunchkhoja Khan avait invité à sa cour des scientifiques, des poètes et des écrivains célèbres. Plus tard, de nombreuses guerres ont opposé Tachkent à entres autres Bukhara.

A la fin du 18ème siècle, Tachkent devint un état indépendant mais éphémère... Dès 1809, Tachkent, qui entretemps était devenue la ville la plus riche d'Asie Centrale, est rattachée au khanat de Kokan, provoquant le mécontentement d'une grande partie du clergé qui chercha à se rallier à Boukhara, mais entretemps la Russie avait envoyé son armée.

Tachkent était devenue russe... Mais l'empire russe ne tarda pas à disparaître au profit de l'Union Soviétique. 

Les soviétiques ne tardèrent pas à industrialiser Tachkent et dans les années 1930, la ville avait développé un tissu industriel non négligeable. Cette industrialisation allait se développer encore plus rapidement avec la guerre 40-45, car les soviétiques ont déplacé une partie de leur industrie de Russie vers l'Asie Centrale, pour éviter la destruction par les armées nazies. Cette époque connut une très forte augmentation de la population, en grande partie à cause des réfugiés russes et communistes allemands qui fuyaient le 3ème Reich dans leur pays. Beaucoup d'entre eux se sont installés de façon définitive à Tachkent qui est devenue une ville cosmopolite.

Un important tremblement de terre en 1966 a détruit une grande partie des monuments anciens et la reconstruction a encore accentué son caractère architectural soviétique. 

Parmi les rares monuments qui ont survécu au tremblement de terre, il y  le complexe Hazrat Imam.

Complexe Hazrat Imam

Ce complexe comprenant une mosquée et des madrassas était en ruines au début du 20ème siècle, en partie suite au tremblement de terre mais aussi à cause du manque chronique d'entretien.. Tachkent s'étant déclarée "capitale culturelle du monde islamique", les autorités ont été forcées à réhabiliter les lieux. Et comme en Ouzbékistan on ne fait pas toujours dans la dentelle en matière de réhabilitation d'anciens monuments, les ruines de l'ancien ensemble ont été rasées et les bâtiments reconstruits.

Parmi les principaux édifices de cet ensemble, il y a le mausolée de Khazrati Imam et la madrassa Barakhan.

le métro de Tachkent

Après le tremblement de terre de 1966, les autorités ont commencé la construction du premier métro en Asie centrale. Les constructeurs ont particulièrement soigné les stations en les décorant des plus beaux marbres et en veillant à ce qu'aucune station ne ressemble à une autre. Le métro est construit en respectant strictement les normes anti-sismiques et devrait résister à tremblement de terre de magnitude 10. Construit durant la guerre froide, le métro de Tachkent peut aussi servir d'abri anti-atomique. Jusqu'en 2018, il était strictement interdit d'y faire des films et de prendre des photos, à cause de son caractère stratégique. Nous y sommes heureusement allés en 2019...

le plov centre

Le plat national en Ouzbékistan est le plov, un plat à base de riz, de viande de mouton ou de boeuf et de légumes. Tachkent possède son "plov center" où ce plat traditionnel est confectionné dans de gigantesques marmites. C'en est devenu une attraction touristique...

le marché Chorsu

Tachkent possède aussi un immense marché couvert où on peut se procurer tous les produits nécessaires pour fabriquer un bon plov, mais bien d'autres choses également. En particulier des fruits secs qui sont excellents.

Quel temps fait-il à Tashkent?

à propos de l'endroit, Tashkent:

Tashkent est la capitale et la ville la plus peuplée d'Ouzbékistan, avec ses 2,5 millions d'habitants. Comme beaucoup de villes de la région, Tashkent fut détruite par Gengis Khan au début du XIIIème siècle. Et comme toujours les villes renaissent de leurs cendres et Tashkent devint un point important sur la route de la soie.

Si la ville montre un caractère aussi résolument soviétique (barres d'immeubles désuètes, grands et imposants monuments,  larges avenues) c'est parce qu'elle a été en grande partie reconstruite suite au tremblement de terre de 1966 qui dévasta la ville. Tashkent est alors devenue la quarième plus grande ville d'URSS, après Moscou, Leningrad et Kiev.

 

Commentaires parlés dans le film: 

Tashkent est une ville de près de 3 millions d'habitants et fut la quatrième ville la plus importante de l'ex-URSS. L'architecture soviétique est extrêmement présente dans la ville mais ce film se contente de montrer des monuments historiques antérieurs à cette époque.

La ville dont le nom signifie "Citadelle de Pierre" est âgée d'au moins 2000 ans et est la capitale de l'Ouzbékistan.

 

Musique:

 (Ouzbekistan)  - Echoes of Vanished Courts - Holimni So'ramaysan (You don't ask how I am)

 - Alihan Samedov (Ouzbekistan)  - Duduk - Track 1

 - Toki Zargaron (Ouzbekistan)  - National Uzbek Melodies - Track 11

 - Toki Zargaron (Ouzbekistan)  - National Uzbek Melodies - Track 12

Tashkent, Ouzbékistan
complexe Hazrati Iman, Tashkent • Ouzbékistan
complexe Hazrati Iman
dans les couloirs du métro, Tashkent • Ouzbékistan
dans les couloirs du métro
les cuisines du plov center, Tashkent • Ouzbékistan
dans les couloirs du métro
au marché couvert, Tashkent • Ouzbékistan
au marché couvert

Tashkent,Ouzbékistan