This film was made on the basis of photos and videos taken during the trip Myanmar • Burma (EN)

In the vicinity of Moniwa, there are two very different cave sites.

On the one hand, the ancient site of Pho Win Taung (or Po Win Taung) is an ancient Buddhist shrine and a little further, a kind of town cut in the rock is of much more recent construction (see here).

Pho Win Taung

Po Win Taung is a sacred site in Myanmar and has hundreds of caves, some natural and others (the vast majority) have been excavated to make shrines to the glory of Buddha.

Most of these caves were excavated between the 14th and 18th centuries and contain paintings and / or sculptures of Buddha. There would be a total of around 10,000 representations of Buddha in these caves.

The site is not an open-air museum, but a still living place where the faithful continue to come to honor Buddha by burning incense and bringing donations, consisting of baskets of fruit, coconut and bananas quite similar to some paintings dating back over 300 years.

The site deserves better monitoring and maintenance, because it is starting to deteriorate in places. Many factors explain this degradation. In addition to the shameless antiques looters who sometimes come to help themselves, the unsupervised tourists, the thousands of wandering macaques and the atmospheric conditions contribute to the slow agony of these magnificent exceptional troglodyte temples.

about the place, Pho Win Taung:

Located about forty kilometers from Moniwa in Myanmar, the Pho Win Taung site is famous for its excavated temples. Temples carved into the rock are part of Buddhist traditions. Pho Win Taung has around 800 caves carved into the rock and there are nearly 4,000 sculptures. There are also sanctuaries (monasteries, convents and stupas) whose walls are painted.

The excavations of Pho Win Taung date from the beginning of the 17th century.

About a kilometer from these caves, another more recent troglodyte site. Shwe Ba Taung dates from the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century. The influences of this other site are more eclectic, mixing Western architectural styles with the Buddhist tradition of Burma ...

 

Spoken comments in the film: 

The Pho Win Taung site has several hundred excavated caves which house just over 4,000 Buddha statues. Located about a kilometer from another much more recent troglodyte site (see another film in this series) Pho Win Taung leaves an impression of a much more authentic site. 

The monkeys probably had the same thought because they are found by the hundreds between and on these monuments dating from the 17th century.

 

Music:

 - YouTube video library - Approaching Space Time Event

 - YouTube video library - Court and Page

 

• Disclaimer: As traditional music is often subject to copyright (claimed by major music distribution groups), the musical illustration of this film "Pho Win Taung, cave Buddhist sanctuary • Myanmar (EN)" does not use typical music of Myanmar but is borrowed from a collection of royalty-free music. Despite the painstaking care given to the musical choices in this film, some people may regret this choice, but it is the price to pay for not incurring unnecessary lawsuits. This decision was difficult to take, but it's the only viable solution, unfortunately. •

Pho Win Taung, Myanmar - troglodyte temples
excavated buddhist temple, Pho Win Taung • Myanmar
excavated buddhist temple
buddha statue in a niche, Pho Win Taung • Myanmar
buddha statue in a niche
macaque on the troglodyte site, Pho Win Taung • Myanmar
macaque on the troglodyte site
buddhas in niches in excavated shrines, Pho Win Taung • Myanmar
buddhas in niches in excavated shrines

Po Win Taung, Myanmar

Ce film a été réalisé sur base de photos et vidéos prises durant le voyage Myanmar • Birmanie (FR)

Dans les environs de Moniwa, il y a deux sites troglodytes fort différents l'un de l'autre. 

D'un côté, l'ancien site de Pho Win Taung (ou Po Win Taung) est un sanctuaire bouddhiste ancien et un peu plus loin, une espèce de ville taillée dans la roche est de facture nettement plus récente (voir ici).

Pho Win Taung

Po Win Taung est un site sacré au Myanmar et comporte des centaines de grottes, les unes naturelles et les autres (la grande majorité) ont été excavés afin d'en faire des sanctuaires à la gloire de Bouddha.

La plupart de ces grottes ont été creusées entre le 14ème et le 18ème siècle et contiennent des peintures et/ou des sculptures de Bouddha. Il y aurait au total environ 10.000 représentations de Bouddha dans ces grottes.

Le site n'est pas un musée à ciel ouvert, mais un lieu toujours vivant où les fidèles continuent à venir honorer Bouddha en y faisant brûler de l'encens et en y apportant des donations, consistant en paniers de fruits, noix de coco et bananes assez semblables à certaines peintures datant du plus de 300 ans.

Le site mériterait une surveillance et un entretien de meilleure qualité, parce qu'il commence à s'abîmer par endroits. De nombreux facteurs expliquent cette dégradation. Outre les pilleurs d'antiquités sans vergogne qui viennent parfois se servir, les touristes non encadrés, les milliers de macaques errants et les conditions athmosphériques contribuent à la lente agonie de ces magnifiques temples troglodytes exceptionnels.

à propos de l'endroit, Pho Win Taung:

Situé à une quarantaine de kilomètres de Moniwa au Myanmar, le site Pho Win Taung est célèbre pour ses temples excavés. Les temples creusés dans la roche font partie des traditions bouddhistes. Pho Win Taung compte environ 800 grottes creusées dans la roche et on y dénombre près de 4000 sculptures. On y trouve aussi des sanctuaires (monastères, couvents  et stupas) dont les parois sont peintes.

Les excavations de Pho Win Taung datent du début du XVIIème siècle.

A environ un kilomètre de ces grottes, un autre site troglodyte plus récent. Shwe Ba Taung date de la fin du XIXème siècle et du début du XXième. Les influlences de cet autre site sont plus éclectiques, mêlant des styles architecturaux occidentaux à la tradition bouddhiste de Birmanie.

Commentaires parlés dans le film: 

Le site de Pho Win Taung compte plusieurs centaines de grottes excavées qiu abritent un peu plus de 4.000 statues de Bouddha. Situé à environ un kilomètre d'u autre site troglodyte beaucoup plus récent (voir autre film dans cette série) Pho Win Taung laisse une impression d'un site beaucoup plus authentique.

Les singes se sont probablement fait la même réflexion parce qu'on les trouve par centaines entre et sur ces monuments datant du 17ème siècle.

 

Musique:

 - YouTube video library - Approaching Space Time Event

 - YouTube video library - Court and Page

 

• Avertissement: Les musiques traditionnelles étant souvent sujettes à droits d'auteur (réclamés par les grands groupes de distribution musicale), l'illustration sonore de ce film "Pho Win Taung, sanctuaire bouddhiste troglodyte • Myanmar (FR)" ne fait pas  appel à de la musique typique du Myanmar mais est  empruntée à une collection de musiques libres de droits. Malgré le soin minutieux apporté aux choix musicaux dans ce film, certaines personnes pourraient regretter ce choix, mais c'est le prix à payer pour ne pas encourir de poursuites inutiles. Cette décision a été difficile à prendre, mais c'est la seule solution viable, malheureusement. •

Po Win Taung,Myanmar - temples troglodytes
temple bouddhiste excavé, Pho Win Taung • Myanmar
temple bouddhiste excavé
statue de bouddha dans une niche, Pho Win Taung • Myanmar
statue de bouddha dans une niche
macaque sur le site troglodyte, Pho Win Taung • Myanmar
macaque sur le site troglodyte
bouddhas dans des niches dans des sanctuaires excavés, Pho Win Taung • Myanmar
bouddhas dans des niches dans des sanctuaires excavés

Po Win Taung