The Golden Rock is certainly one of the most famous sites in Myanmar. This astonishing rock balanced on a high hill is entirely covered with gold leaf.

This place knows an extraordinary devotion on behalf of the Buddhist faithful who frequent it in droves.

At nightfall, whole families gather there with their blankets and sleep on the ground until the early hours of the morning. The Golden Rock comes alive before sunrise, around 4 a.m. All the faithful then make offerings in front of the Golden Rock. A little away from the large square covered with marble, a kind of market sells pilgrims everything they need to prepare their offerings.

And very surprisingly, at sunrise, all these little people take over the direction of the valley ... Why this nocturnal activity ...? I have not succeeded in unraveling the secret.

The early morning is also the time when baggage porters enter the scene. The burdens they pile up in their basket that they carry on their backs are impressive. The most astonishing that we have seen is the transport of an elderly lady perched on the top of the basket ...

And the road is long into the valley.

 

translation of comments in the film: 00:45 minute: The Golden Rock is located on top of a hill and can only be accessed by truck from the valley. But better to stop halfway and do the last part on foot. Even if the coast is steep, the encounters we make along the way largely compensate for the fatigue.

 

minute 02:13: This strange rock is a very important place of pilgrimage in Myanmar. This seemingly unstable balanced rock is entirely covered with gold leaf glued by the faithful males.

And as often one or more legends are at the origin of this place of pilgrimage.

One of these legends states that the rock is placed on a lock of Buddha's hair which prevents him from rolling down the hill.

Another legend has it that the Heavenly King was so impressed by the asceticism of a priest that he transported this rock to this place. He would also have chosen a rock that looks like the head of this priest.

 

minute 00:04: When we have the chance to spend the night there, we are surprised to find hundreds of pilgrims

who sleep on the ground and who say their prayers at dawn.

And for some reason that escaped our notice, all these people come back down as soon as the sun is up.

Most of them are there with their whole family, with their luggage.

Porters (who are often porters) offer their services to carry the luggage in baskets that they put on their backs. Sometimes it even happens that old people do not have the strength to come down on their own, so ... hop, on the suitcases, the grandmother ...

 

about the place, Golden Rock:

Golden Rock: If the legend is to be believed, the rock would be in unstable equilibrium on a strand of Buddah hair. A pagoda was built next to this mysterious rock perched at the top of Mount Kyaiktiyo. The rock is covered with gold leaf (hence its name) and is the third most important place of pilgrimage in Myanmar after the Shwedagon (in Yangon) and the Mahamuni pagoda near Mandalay.

 

 

Music: 

 - YouTube video library - A Fallen Cowboy

 - YouTube video library - Bus Da Blockbuster

 - YouTube video library - People Watching

Golden Rock, Myanmar

Le Golden Rock est certainement un des sites les plus connus au Myanmar.  Cet étonnant rocher en équilibre sur une haute colline est entièrement recouvert de feuilles d'or.

Cet endroit connaît une extraordinaire dévotion de la part des fidèles bouddhistes qui le fréquentent en masse.

A la tombée de la nuit, des familles entières s'y rassemblent avec leur couverture et dorment à même le sol jusqu'au petit matin. Le Golden Rock s'anime avant le lever du soleil, vers 4 heures du matin. Tous les fidèles font alors des offrandes devant le Golden Rock. Un peu à l'écart de la grande place recouverte de marbre, une espèce de marché vend aux pèlerins tout ce dont ils ont besoin pour préparer leurs offrandes.

Et de façon très étonnante, au lever du soleil, tout ce petit monde reprend la direction de la vallée... Pourquoi cette activité nocturne...? Je n'ai pas réussi à en percer le secret.

Le petit matin est également l'heure où les porteurs et les porteuses de bagages entrent en scène. Les fardeaux qu'ils empilent dans leur panier qu'ils portent sur le dos sont impressionnants. Le plus étonnant que nous ayons vu est le transport d'une dame âgée juchée sur le haut du panier...

Et la route est longue jusque dans la vallée.

 

Le Golden Rock est situé au sommet d'une colline  et n'est accessible que par camion à partir de la vallée. Mais mieux vaut s'arrêter à mi-chemin et faire la dernière partie à pied. Même si la côte est raide, les rencontres qu'on fait en cours de route compensent largement la fatigue.

 

Cet étrange rocher est un très important lieu de pèlerinage au Myanmar. Ce rocher en équilibre apparemment instable est entièrement recouvert de feuilles d'or collées par les fidèles mâles.

Et comme souvent une ou plusieurs légendes sont à l'origine de ce lieu de pèlerinage.

Une de ces légendes stipule que le rocher est posé sur une mèche de cheveux de Bouddha ce qui l'empêche de dévaler la colline.

Une autre légende veut que le roi céleste ait été tellement impressionné par l'ascétisme d'un prêtre qu'il a transporté ce rocher à cet endroit. Il aurait également choisi un rocher qui ressemble à la tête de ce prêtre.

 

Quand on a la chance de passer la nuit sur place, on a la surprise de trouver des centaines de pèlerins qui dorment par terre et qui font leurs prières dès l'aube.

Et pour une raison qui nous a échappé, tous ces gens redescendent dès que le soleil est levé. 

La plupart sont là avec toute leur famille, avec leurs bagages.

Des porteurs (qui sont bien souvent des porteuses)  offrent leurs services pour porter les bagages dans des paniers qu'ils mettent sur leur dos. Parfois même, il arrive que de vieilles personnes n'ont pas la force de redescendre par leurs propres moyens, alors... hop, sur les valises, la grand-mère...

 

à propos de l'endroit, Golden Rock:

Golden Rock: Si on en croit la légende, le rocher serait en équilibre instable sur une mèche de cheveux de Bouddah. Une pagode fut construite à côté de ce mystérieux rocher perché au sommet du mont Kyaiktiyo. Le rocher est recouvert de feuilles d'or (d'où son nom) et constitue le troisième lieu de pélerinage le plus important du Myanmar après le Shwedagon (à Yangon) et la pagode Mahamuni près de Mandalay.

 

Musique

 - YouTube video library

 

 

Golden Rock, Myanmar